This is me. · Uncategorized

The Almost Guy.

Everyone has one. Or maybe a few. My first “almost” guy happened to be a huge jerk. I’m thankful he was the “almost” guy instead of the wasted memories guy. Charming and charismatic combined with his off the charts good looks made him desirable to nearly everyone that walked by. Highly skilled in the arts of “wooing”, he was virtually unstoppable.

We met at prom. Tall,cute,fun. It was difficult to keep from noticing him.There was an invisible (but very real) line to dance with him. He came up and asked me to dance with him for the last slow dance. Being the incredibly mature 16 year old I was, I graciously accepted and as soon as he turned around, I looked back at my group of friends and winked. A round of applause arose from my table. He looked back and smiled his adorably seducing smile. He had me hooked and he knew it. We danced and talked. He was almost 19 and so naturally, I lied and said I was almost 18. We clicked. He was easy to talk to and we kept conversation with ease.  He had a weathered way about him. He walked confidently and with a natural swagger about him. This should have been my first clue.

My second clue he openly told me. His favorite song was “Classic Man” by Jidenna.

“My name calling all night
I can pull the wool while I’m being polite
Like, darling calling all night
I can be a bull while I’m being polite
Like, oh me, oh me oh my
I know many women want to be in my life
Like, oh me, oh me oh my
Why can’t every woman end up being my wife?
Even if she go away, even if she go away
Even if she go away, even if she go away
I’m a classic man
You can be me when you look this clean
I’m a classic man
Calling on me like a young OG
I’m a classic man
Your needs get met by the street, elegant old fashioned man
Yeah baby I’m a classic man
I burn through the hood like whoa
When everybody’s feeling so cold
I’m cool like Nat King Cole
And niggas get a bit of my glow
I got charm like a leprechaun, mummafucker” 
   My ignorant self ignored the lyrics and burst out “No way! I love that song!!” Naive and vulnerable, I was the perfect prey. Not only is this song degrading but it’s also insanely illiterate. Again, clue 2.
   My third clue would be that he asked for my Instagram instead of my number. At the time I didn’t have an Instagram, so instead, I gave him my Snapchat. *Mistake* This is the very best app for any first-class player. Everything you say disappears and you can change the username.
  Clue 4 came the next night when he texts me this:
  Unfortunately, I was blinded by his good looks and charm, so this seemed like the sweetest thing ever. Basically he’s saying, “I saw you checking me out and after I evaluated every girl in the room I decided, you’ll do…lol” This seemed perfectly acceptable to me at the time. I’ve grown since then.
  After about a month of reading his texts boasting about how amazingly gifted and talented  he was, he still hadn’t asked me on a date. I’m not the most patient person in the world so it began to become very wearisome. He was never interested in anything I had to say and slowly we drifted apart. He would text me once a week, when he was bored. Eventually I unadded him on Snapchat and that was the end of it.. I thought. He friended me on Facebook a few months later. He likes every profile picture. A few months after that, I created an Instagram and (in a moment of weakness) I followed him. He likes nearly every picture I post. But, he refuses to actually start a conversation. Just subtle flirting. I’ve come to a conclusion, that may be the only thing he’s good at. I don’t know him too well (only because he didn’t allow me to) but he seems to be the type afraid of an actual relationship. There’s a lot of that type in the world now. The type we can look at as long as we don’t get too close.
  This is the story of my “almost” guy. If he could have gotten over himself, I imagine we could of had a good time. We are both extroverted social butterflies. I’ve realized now that we are both young,restless, and (as much as it tears at my soul to admit it) immature beings. We’re figuring out who we are and what we like. So no, I don’t blame him for playing with my feelings. It taught me a little more about myself and what I’m looking for in life.
  Thank you “Almost” Guy
for showing me exactly what I don’t want. 
*For those reading this on the ‘reader’, you’ll have to go to my blog to see the screenshot of the text he sent me. For some reason, it won’t show up unless it’s on my blog.
Leave a Reply

